Utah Gets Tough With Texting Drivers

From the 8/29/09 NY Times Utah Gets Tough With Texting Drivers

Some excerpts are below.  Click the link above and read the entire story.

After a crash here that killed two scientists — and prompted a dogged investigation by a police officer and local victim’s advocate — Utah passed the nation’s toughest law to crack down on texting behind the wheel. Offenders now face up to 15 years in prison.

Under Utah’s law, someone caught texting and driving now faces up to three months in jail and up to a $750 fine, a misdemeanor. If they cause injury or death, the punishment can grow to a felony and up to a $10,000 fine and 15 years in prison.

Give us a call, we can help.

John Schneyer, Boca Consultants

Leave a Reply